Monday, May 27, 2024

Swiss National Bank (SNB)

The Swiss National Bank (SNB) is the central bank of Switzerland

Like other central banks, the SNB is responsible for setting monetary policy. It is also responsible for issuing Swiss franc banknotes.

The main functions of the Swiss National Bank are to ensure domestic price stability and to create an economic environment conducive to optimal economic growth and development in Switzerland.

Swiss National Bank (SNB)

Unlike many other central banks, the Swiss National Bank is a private company. More than half of its shares are held by public institutions, with the remainder traded on the Swiss stock market.

The Swiss National Bank officially opened on June 20, 1907.

It has two headquarters: one in Bern and one in Zurich.

In addition, it has six representative offices (Basel, Geneva, Lausanne, Lucerne, Lugano and St. Gallen).

There are also 14 institutions operated by state banks that help ensure the state’s funding supply.

The Swiss National Bank is also known as Banque Nationale Suisse in French, Schweizerische Nationalbank in German, Banca Naziunala Svizra in Romansh, and Banca Nazionale Svizzera in Italian.

The bank’s logo reflects all four Swiss languages ​​as well as English.

If you want to learn more foreign exchange trading knowledge, please click: Trading Education.

Read more

Local News